7/31/17: Daily Post

Yesterday was my first day back in Socorro after my trip to Illinois.  I started out the day by meeting with my department head to see what had been screwed up since I last set foot on campus.  As it turns out, we have like two weeks to move our pilot scale plant equipment out of the storage space we were given last summer, after they forced us out of another space.  Naturally, there is no funding, no help, and no new storage space to do all of this.

Anyway, after stewing about it for a bit, I realized that some of the administration is mentally handicapped, and it is not fair to belittle them.  Me, being an engineer, I will figure out what to do.  I started moving things around and sorting through our stuff.  Even so, I started applying for other jobs.  Not saying I will leave, but this moving every five minutes is starting to piss me off.  If I move without additional pay, there will be no incentive for them to ever pay me extra again.  If I don’t move, they’ll make it an issue at a more inconvenient time.  Either way, with other offers, I will be free to tell them where to stick their job at any moment.

In the evening, I commuted home.  I did find out that the bus schedule is going to change, and that, if I stay at NMT and Magdalena, my commute will be nearly an hour and a half shorter!

I did a little grocery shopping and headed home.  I was able to jumpstart the Malibu, and it seems to be running just fine.   I will probably take it for a spin in a few days, just to keep it running.

Thank you for reading my post.

Leave a Reply

