6/25/17: Daily Post

Yesterday, we woke up at the Field Day site in Datil Wells Campground, NM.  We had breakfast with the other ham radio operators and I did a quick forecast.  I had received several messages about chasing storms from my Virginia Tech storm chasing crew, and sure enough, we were in an Enhanced Risk area.  We packed up at the Field Day site, and JoAnna and I headed home to pick up Joey.

He jumped in the car and we headed north to Las Vegas, NM where we intercepted a cell that was showing rotation on radar.  We could clearly see the entire base, and there was no organized wall cloud, and no tornado.  We did take one big hailstone to the center of the roof after seeing an occasional pea-sized hailstone, so we headed south out of the storm.  I will post the entire writeup on my storm chase blog later tonight.

We returned in the evening and unpacked.  I was pretty well beat from the Field Day and the storm chase, so I went to bed early.

Thank you for reading my post.

Leave a Reply

