The Last Two Weeks

I have been out storm chasing with a few Virginia Tech alumni for the past two weeks.  I haven’t had time to post on this blog, and am behind on my storm chase blog as well.

This storm chase has been probably the best chase I have ever done.  My chase team was solid.  We caught four tornadoes in four states.  We were on severe storms almost every day.  Navigation, costs, and everything were within spec.  I did get a few hail dents, but kept all of the windows.

I did lose a former student during this time.  Unfortuately, my former student and friend, Ben Nzavi, drowned while trying to save his daughter, who fell in a lake and also drowned.

I’m in a little post-chase depression, as usual, after our last chase day.  I just dropped Kathryn off at the Tulsa airport, and said goodbye to Alex, Aaron and Dan, as they drive back to VA.  I am at a Waffle House just north of town, getting ready for my long trek west.

Thank you guys for reading my post.

Leave a Reply

