3/28/17: Daily Post

Yesterday was a busy day, and yet I felt like everything was moving in slow motion.  Once again, it was spring break for Magdalena, so I spent quite a few hours at NMT instead.

I started out the day by writing two weather forecasts:  one for NM, and one for the severe weather threat in Texas.  After that, I continued cleaning up computers and getting things ready for instrumentation lab.  This week’s lab was on state machines, shift registers, and sub-VIs in LabVIEW.

At lunch time, Skyler and I tried to get one of my VHF rigs running.  On the service monitor, it worked fine, but once we took it off there and connected it to a battery and an antenna, it stopped working.  I will have to do some more experimenting to figure out what has gone wrong.

In the afternoon, I taught instrumentation lab.  I really need to find a way to make these more interesting.  I think the students have fun with the actual lab, but there has to be a better way to cover the content before the lab begins.

In the evening, I commuted home on the buses and trains.  I wrote two articles for Paydirt and read up on the news of the three storm chasers that were killed in Texas.  I didn’t know any of them, but it was still sad to see.

At home, I did some more cooking, as I did not get a chance to do all of the cooking for the week on Sunday.  I made some more burgers for my breakfasts and another stir fry for JoAnna and Joey’s dinners.

I called it a semi-early night and went to bed at 11:30 or so.

Thank you for reading my post.

Leave a Reply

