9/17/16: Daily Post

Yesterday was a relaxing day, to say the least. I started out the day by sleeping in and then going to church at Rio Rancho SDA. The sermon was on keeping the Sabbath, so I rethought my afternoon plans of working on my GIS homework and laundry. After the sermon, we had a potluck fellowship lunch. I sat and talked with a few folks and ate some good food.

I returned home and took a nap until 5. I needed to catch up on my sleep deficit that I had ran up this past week.

At 5, I woke up, got dressed, and then drove back to the Rio Rancho SDA church for an evening session and Adventist Youth social. The visiting pastor spoke again about engaging young people in the church. It was a neat presentation, as the conference had hired a consultant to process a bunch of data, and presented it as statistics, so my engineering brain was appreciative of that. Some things were surprising- even those not engaged were, statistically speaking, paying tithes. The pastor even had a story about a young man that would show up each week and drop his envelope in a drop box, but never attended service.

After the presentation, we had an ice cream social, where I ate far too much ice cream, and chatted with a number of folks. One of them informed me about a SDA student at NMT. As it turns out, he is one of my students (starting this semester), and starting next week, we are partnered together in a mentoring project for freshmen. I later emailed this student and confirmed that it was true.

After the social, I did my grocery shopping, and then returned home to clean house and cook.

Thank you for reading my post.

Leave a Reply

