12/3/15: Daily Post

Yesterday, I tutored at Magdalena in the morning, though they were about to start a 3 day weekend and sports in the afternoon, followed by standardized testing next week, so they were about done with schoolwork for this week!

After that, I went to the Chem-E Car awards ceremony at NMT. I mentored several groups, all of which did well in the competition. Most importantly, I finally got a new Chemical Engineering department t-shirt, as mine had pretty well self-destructed after years of use.

After that, I packed up and headed to the Ranches for tutoring there. I was the only one to go, so I headed home afterwards.

I was amazed at tutoring, as one of the students at the Ranch really got calculus. I mean, he got the fundamental concepts, and spent the rest of the session playing with derivatives. I mean, for real, really got it. He is in pre-calculus now, and doing well, so he wanted to know why pre-calculus was only review of previous math classes. When I left in the evening, he had tested quite a few polynomial expressions and their derivatives, calculating them and checking them by graphing. It took me two months of high school calculus to learn that!

In the evening, I lost my FitBit Flex, so I spent the evening unsuccessfully searching for it. It made me quite angry, as I’ve lost three this year. I think I know when I lost it, as I was digging in my pocket, and perhaps scraped the band off. However, when I went back, it was nowhere to be found.

I won another one off e-Bay, because they are addictive, like crack.

Anyway, have a good night, and thank you for reading this post.

Leave a Reply

