3/19/15, 3/20/15: Daily Posts

I’m getting lazy about posting on here. I will have to step up my game! To make up for my laziness, I added another page to this site. If you look under “Excursions,” and then under “Railroad,” there is now a link to “Cumbres and Toltec Rwy.” We visited this railroad back in 2007, and I finally moved the photos from an older website to this one.

On Thursday, I finished out my week tutoring in the Albuquerque Public Schools. I had a great time, and look forward to doing it again at the next opportunity.

Yesterday, I went to the Gem and Mineral show in Albuquerque. Rock collecting was a big deal when I was a kid, and I really, really enjoy going to these shows. I want to get my rocks set up as a display here at the house before I buy any more, but that is perhaps the only thing that is preventing me from spending my money and buying new rocks!

As a kid, rocks were things that came from exotic places (like New Mexico). Each rock that I bought came in a white box with a label that specified the rock as well as where it was found. Now that I live out west and travel all of the time, I wonder what other rocks I can find.

The one purchase I made at the Gem and Mineral show was a replacement copy of one of the geology books I had as a kid: “A Golden Guide – Rocks and Minerals” by Zim and Shaffer. Flipping through the pages brought back so many memories of sitting on the rock pile looking for exotic rocks (we pulled rocks from our garden and carted them off to a pile in the corner of the yard). I had wanted to be a geologist in those days and spent a lot of time looking at the pages on what a geologist does and what tools he used. I remember getting a claw hammer and thinking of it as my rock hammer.

Thanks for the trip down memory lane, Rock and Minerals!

Thank you for reading my post!

Leave a Reply

