10/9/14, 10/10/14: Daily Post

On Thursday, I replaced the battery in the van and renewed its registration. It’s nice to have the van back on the road again!
After that, we went out for a nice Jasmine Thai lunch; I don’t think we have been out for lunch like that in a long time.

Thursday afternoon, I drove down to the Boys and Girls Ranch and completed several hours of tutoring there. We won’t be there next week (special event at NMT), but it is fun to go as often as I can.

After that, I had dinner with my brother and his family and watched Grumpy Old Men, one of my favorite movies for some reason. Reading up on the actors, Jack Lemon and Walter Matthau were friends in real life for quite some time. They are buried not too far apart, with the same style gravestones in the same cemetery. They died almost a year apart of the same thing. I guess when you are close to someone, that can happen.

Yesterday was a training day at Magdalena School. I will be tutoring there (a second job!) on a flexible schedule. It looks like a lot of fun; the tutoring program is called AVID, and relies heavily on the students questioning each other, rather than standard one-on-one tutoring. I am anxious to see how it goes.

There was an accident on the NM Railrunner yesterday. I wasn’t riding, but heard about it from some of my friends. Apparently, a car tried to run around the gates and was struck. Both people in the car were killed, no surprise there. I just can’t believe people do such dumb things. I really feel bad for the driver of the train; he’ll see that image for the rest of his life and wonder if there was anything he could have done differently.

On that note, it’s time for some house cleaning and homework.

Thank you for reading my post!

Leave a Reply

