8/28/14: Daily Post

Today was a fun day for me. I do not teach on Thursdays, so I try to spend some time with my son on those days. Before you complain, let me explain: every other day, I leave my house at 5:30 am and return at 9:00 pm at night. I get a lot done on my commute. Some Thursdays, I don’t need to be in the office.

We went to the Albuquerque Atomic Museum and had a great time. The museum is divide between indoor and outdoor exhibits. The indoor exhibits include information about the people and places involved with the development of the atomic age, as well as plenty of exhibits featuring equipment and relics from earlier times. On display are a number of bomb casings, models, Civil Defense and bomb shelter materials, and so on. There is an area for kids to play with various science educational toys as well. Below is my son in front of a ship mounted missile launcher that is on display in front of the museum.

The outside exhibits feature rockets, planes and ground launched weapons. This was really neat, and I didn’t get to see these the last time I wandered around at the museum (I was there for a conference and did not get time to see it all). My son wanted photos of the B-52:

He also thought the landing gear well was really cool:

The newest project is restoring the sail from the USS James Polk (SSN 645), a nuclear submarine that had been decommissioned. Below is a photo of that project in action:

Overall, the museum trip was a fun way to spend the afternoon!

After that, we took the bus over to Annapurna’s, a vegetarian/Ayurveda restaurant in town. I didn’t picture myself eating at such a place, but some of their food is really good. I can’t quite get enough protein there, but the food itself is great.

I’ve worked on QSL cards this evening, paid some bills, and did some house cleaning. Once I returned home, I returned to normal, everyday life.

I hope you enjoyed this post!

Leave a Reply

